Insomnia

I have had insomnia since I was in high school. I think it was the result of my father’s irregular working hours. He is, as I am, a journalist and his schedule varies from time to time. Especially since he used to work for a daily newspaper.

By the time I got to college, I would often stay up to as late as 2 or 3 in the morning and go to class at 8. I had very deep and dark circles in my eyes so much so that some of my professors thought I had some Hindu blood.

In law school, insomnia was useful since it was spent on reading books, cases, and journals. And since the classes are in the late afternoons to the evenings, I am actually able to get back on some Zs without missing anything.

When I started working for a TV station though, it was quite difficult since I had to be in the office by 9 in the morning. That means having only a few hours of sleep, going to the field with your crew, and reading on cases during free time. But I was lucky since the company re-established the graveyard shift and the news chief, knowing how many times I arrive late for the morning shift, transferred me to the 9PM to 6AM shift. And I was happy.

Everything fell into place. Work from 9 to 6; home by 7 or 8; sleep by 9; up by 2 or 3 in the afternoon; and readings til 5 or 6 in the evening. It was all good. But as all good things must come to an end. I was given another assignment in another city so I had to give up law school. I became an editor and I had to baby-sit new reporters. Later on I fell into a disagreement with my news manager and I called it quits.

Later I would be briefly separated from insomnia due to my later employment conditions. But I would always have days when I am not able to sleep or at least have just one or two hours of shut-eye.

Recently, insomnia has reunited with me and I find myself often times awake until the sun rises. I hope there was some treatment or something for insomnia. If there was one, I would gladly take it. Then again, I must say, there are times when I think better when I am awake in the wee hours of the night and the early minutes of the day.

I guess I have a love-hate relationship with insomnia.

Leave a Reply

