Don’t matter

Like what I said, this blog was supposed to be a repository of thoughts and I have been having one thought which I have been trying to put out for some time now. I actually maintain a Tumblog and in that blog, I already have more than 11,500 followers. Yet despite the number of followers I have, I actually do not feel them. I mean sure, there are like 30 guys who actively engage me in exchanges of thoughts and ideas, and there are like 50 who regularly visit the blog and like or re-blog the post. The rest are ghosts.

I actually don’t know why I am writing this but I guess it is out of frustration over the number of people, especially among the teens, in my country who go into blogging, particularly in Tumblr, only to treat it like Friendster or Multiply. They think that it’s a follow you, follow me kind of thing. It’s not. And while they may be expecting to be followed back in return, there is actually nothing much worth following about them. When you look at their blogs, all you find are re-blogs of the better known bloggers. It’s sad.

I guess by now I should convince myself to not mind the followers I get since most of them actually do not actually make their presence felt. I guess it don’t matter if they come and go. In the end, a blog is about the writer and not about the followers. I guess that is why I am also here on Posterous. Here. I actually don’t care if I get followers or not. What matters is merely letting out my thoughts. That’s it! And that is in its purest form, blogging.

Leave a Reply

