Azkals

I just watched the Philippines versus Indonesia game for the ASEAN Football Federation Suzuki Cup. It was a semi-final match and whoever wins it gets to face Malaysia in the finals. Indonesia already has an edge having won the match earlier match with the Philippine Azkals. And so my compatriots had to get a win if they want to end the Cup with a trophy.

It was nice watching it at home with Papa and my brother Abe. It has been a while since I have actually watched a sport with my dad and my brother. And it was nice watching the game with them.

The sad thing though was that the Azkals lost to the Indonesians one-nil. Still it was a good game and whatever the Azkals have shown to our neighboring countries would be something they will be looking out for in the next Suzuki Cup. In the home front, I think the Azkals have done much to make football more appealing to the younger Filipino generation. I do hope that their efforts would bear fruit in making more youth play and love football.

Take it from one who spent much of his younger years running under the running in a muddy field after a ball…

Football is life!

Leave a Reply

