Umbrella… Ela… Ela…

What’s with umbrellas? As I was going through the check ups at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 3 earlier, I got a heads up from the lady behind the check-in counter that I needed to separate my folded umbrella from my hand carry baggage, pack it in something, and check it in. Else the security personnel at the second security check in process would confiscate it.

It was only then that I realized that I had mistakenly brought with me my folding umbrella when I should have left it in the house in Quezon City. But what can I do? I forgot to get it out of my backpack before leaving for the airport.

Luckily, I found a brown envelope and some adhesive tape at the 7-11 store on the second floor of Terminal 3. And so I was able to pack the umbrella and have it checked in with the friendly lady behind the counter.

By the time I passed through the second security check, I saw a lot of umbrellas piled by the security personnel. Most of which came from foreign tourists who were actually flooding the airport with big bags and souvenir items in plastics. Some of them didn’t even seem to understand the words in English the security personnel were using to make to explain why the umbrellas had to be taken from them.

Seriously, what’s with umbrellas? Some guys must have wild imaginations of umbrellas being converted to single shot rifles; Or the pipes containing explosive powder which might be set off with a remote detonator. Yeah, I guess anything is possible for some terrorists who are really bent on disrupting the lives of ordinary, helpless citizens. Remember the “ass bomb”?

Then again, I should have left the umbrella in QC

Leave a Reply

