For the 58

Today marks the 13th month of the Maguindanao Massacre: The gruesome incident where 58 persons, 38 of them journalists, were murdered by alleged armed men of an entrenched political family in Maguindanao, Philippines. The incident has been a big blot on the reputation of the Philippines being a democratic country which cherishes the freedom of the press. After the incident, the Philippines was declared for that year as the most dangerous place in the world for journalists.

I will be joining my father later, as with all the other members of the local media, for a candle-lighting  ceremony at the Press Freedom monument. And that will the first time I will again be with media practitioners in Cagayan de Oro since I left the broadcast media industry. Although I have not been one who is active in media organizations, I have always tried my best to remind the people around me of the incident and latest development of the case against the suspects.

I hope and pray that soon enough, the families, friends, and colleagues of the murdered civilians and media practitioners, will get justice. Those victims certainly did not deserve the manner by which they were killed. Nobody ever does.

Justice for the 58! 

Leave a Reply

