Family

It is just a few days before I once again leave Mindanao and go back to reality in Quezon City. I already feel melancholic and I have no one else to blame but myself. I myself decided to work away from Mindanao and in a place where few really know me. It was a decision made in consideration of being near the woman I love and out of the desire to carve out a life for my own, being that I am fast growing old. But being born into an insular family really bites back.

I grew up to a family where gatherings are all about family members e.g. cousins, aunts, uncles, etc. And almost everything that is being done is by and between relatives. And majority of these relatives live, study, and work in Northern Mindanao. Incidentally, it is the same set up which actually made me who I am, and also shaped my need to be away from the family should I grow old.

Now that I am old however, I am starting to feel the need to be near my family. I mean don’t get me wrong, I do love my girlfriend and I would really want to marry her, but I do feel the need to be near my family when I decide to settle down. What complicates things though is that my girlfriend is from Luzon and she also needs to be in a distance relatively near her parents as well, since her parents are like mine, fast growing old. We agreed that the best compromise would be settling int he central part of the Philippines, particularly, Cebu. I guess that would be the best thing to do. But since these things have yet to take shape in the future, I will think about them later.

For now, I will cherish the last remaining days with my family here in Mindanao. And make the last few days full of memories to last me the next time I come back and be with my father, mother, brother and sister, again. At least, I am with them for the New Year’s Eve celebrations.

 

Leave a Reply

