Last Night

It is already 3AM where I am. And I am the only one awake in the house. My parents are already asleep and so are my siblings. We have actually just got home after a night with my aunts and cousins in a videoke bar downtown. It would be my last evening with them since we would all be going back to our lives later. I and my sister would be going to Manila, while my aunt would be going back to New York by the fifth. And this is how our Holiday gatherings usually end.

Despite the usual end, my hear still feels heavy whenever I am about to leave my family and home and go back to Manila to earn my keep. You ask why I am there instead of working in my hometown? The answer is simple: Manila is where my abilities can be put to good use and earn much from it. It is also where my girlfriend works and lives for the most part of the year. And being that I am already on my third decade in life, I think it is high time that I decide for myself as to what and where I should be. Still, coming from a family which has insular outlooks and accustomed to being around them for so many years, it always feels heavy whenever I am about to leave the house and go back to Manila. I can;t help it, I am a sentimentalist.

I do hope I would be able to come back to the land of my birth again. And I hope it would be soon. I really feel better whenever I am in Mindanao. I guess it is largely because this is the land of my birth and speaks my language, understands my views, and appreciate my culture. But, since I am from a family struggling to make ends meet, the burden of employment and accumulating compensation is of paramount concern.

It is a good thing though that the girlfriend understands my attachment to my roots. Despite being from up north, she is willing to relocate with me to the land of my birth when we decide to tie the knot. Thank God!

Leave a Reply

