Changes

It’s been a while since I actually posted anything personal here. I guess it’s largely due to the recent changes I have been going through at work. Although I still have insomnia from time to time, I actually find myslef too exhausted at the end of my work days lately that I just doze off in bed after dinner.

Work has been quite heavy lately. We had to carry on some of the tasks of the members of the office who resigned. And in my case, I had to baby sit a website (that means put in content when needed and make sure it’s updated), manage the social network accounts of the office (which I already used to do), put in photos to those networks (which is a new task), and manage a trio of guys who take pictures (which is also a new task given to me). And then I also had to prepare some PR stuff and liaise with some people. These on top of my usual coverage of events in and around the system I work for.

I have been beat for several weeks already and I am craving for some time off. The last vacation I had was last March. And that was before these tasks started piling up. Back then, things were still building up. Now it’s been several months already and I haven’t had any time off from work except during those days when flu and cough strike me.

I guess I no longer am the wily wolf I used to be. Now I am old, slow, and prone to weariness. I try to believe that I am not. And I try to do as much as I can. But I guess my body no longer reacts to the challenges in the way I want it to and in the way it used to.

It is true what they say that there comes a point when you feel that the mind is willing, but the body is not. And that is what I think usually happens to me these past few days. I try as much as I can to convince myself that I can accomplish all the tasks given to me, but at the end of the day, there are some tasks which I failed to perform. And in cases such as these, I tend to feel bad about myself.

Maybe I just push myself too hard. Or maybe I still believe that I can do what I used to do. But I guess I must admit that I am already well within my third decade of existence and as such, there are already some limitations on what I can do with my head, my hands, and even my back.

Truly, there are changes which have to be acknowledged. And one must try to adjust to these changes if one should want to go on living. Maybe I will not easily learn to accept these changes but I know my mind, my body, as well as my hands and my back, will eventually make me accept it.

As the cliche goes, change is the only permanent thing in this world.

 

2 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Arnel Joseph Ku

    I hope you’ll get that break you haven’t been having since March soon, sir, so that you’ll be able to de-stress and give yourself some reward for being hardworking. Why not treat yourself to a massage? That’s what I want to do first thing when I finally get employed to give myself a fresh start, and I’m planning to do it regularly. Still waiting for a call about the schedule of my final assessment but I know it’ll come soon and I hope I’ll pass that assessment.Maybe you’re drinking too much coffee. Thus, your messed up circadian rhythm. And I guess you’ve been spreading yourself too thinly that’s why you feel really exhausted and experiencing difficulty in sleeping. Then, it affects you mentally. Pamper yourself physically. According to a movie I’ve seen recently, a healthy mind starts from a healthy body. Something like that. So if you’re physically exhausted, try to do something about it and achieve somewhat a less troubled mind, or to be more positive, a more peaceful mind. Then maybe you’ll be able to be productive without being too tired afterwards. :)Ang dami kong sinabi. HAHA. Kaya mo yan, tay.Aja, Sir Kim!

    Reply
  2. Kim Quilinguing

    Thanks AJ! Yep, with the changes that have been going on in the office, I really feel that I should have a break.I am not really much in to massages. I guess I have this feeling against being touched by people I don’t really know. Back when I was in Cebu, my officemates regularly went to massage clinics and they always invited me. But I always refused.Hehehe… Coffee is life AJ 🙂 You can’t take that away from me. But I have been trying to balance things by drinking milk and chocolate drinks from time to time. I have also shifted to fruit juices and iced tea instead of soft drinks.Yep, I guess I have been spreading myself thinly. I always have this thought that I would like to do as much as I can because who knows, the day I have now might just be my last. I would like to make the most of it. Weird huh?Thanks for the comment AJ and I wish you good luck. Will try to put in a good word for you with the Man above. Maybe He can do something for you :)Salamat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

