Absences

I took some time off work for a couple of days this week. I had to. I was already coughing like a mad dog and spewing out odious fluids which would have made life in the work place difficult (since vomiting is forbidden in the pantry sink). Had I went in for work, I would have been repeatedly going up and down the stairs of the building (the office is in the mezzanine), every time something was about to get out of my throat.

And so I had to stay at home.

And fix this blog.

But other than that, I think the couple of days has somehow helped me slowed down from the pace at work. Man, it is not easy doing three to four jobs a day in one single office with other tasks piling up as the hours go by. And the sad thing is, some people, particularly those from outside your office who only seek your assistance, tend to bad mouth you. Yep, I had one such experience a few days back through email. And the person, who is so caught up in one project, berates me as if I were a part of the office that person was working for. Really, the ego some people gain just because of the supposed accumulation of academic degrees. But, being one who would not besmirched the name of my family and the institutions I have been to, I had to answer that person in the most courteous way possible.

And so that added more to the burdens that I already carry.

And I had other tasks to attend to.

But after having spent these past few weeks trying to finish a project that suddenly fell on my lap at the start of the year (and it has to be done as soon as possible); trying to address issues and concerns which flood everyday on various matters; and managing three grown men in attending to their tasks at hand, I guess my immune system was no longer able to cope.

And here I am coughing at home.

And downing endless cups of hot tea and taking meds.

Hopefully, I’d get well soon. So that I’d be able to wrestle with the dragons again.

Leave a Reply

