From CDO with love

And this pack of goodies was delivered to the office last Wednesday. My mother had earlier told me that they were sending some stuff from CDO. And just minutes after she called me up. The guy from LBC arrived at the office and called up my last “first name” and my middle name – which was unusual to the ears of my office mates since few of them (despite working with me for almost four years now), really know my full name.

The package from CDO had two boxes of Vjandep Pastels with Yema filling; one box of chocolate krinkles; one box of butterscotch krinkles; two packs of Broas from Misamis Occidental; one pack of Titay’s Otap from Cebu; one pack of Balimbing prunes (I never knew we had this in CDO); and six small packs of various Tang juice flavors (which were in abundance at the house due to my sister’s ex-boyfriend).

I had to give one of the boxes of Pastels to the office. I know a lot of the guys there like that delicacy from Camiguin (which a lot of Metro Manilans mistake for as coming from CDO).

And so I went home with the rest of the goodies.

Once again, I would like to say thank you very much Papa, Mama, Sorene and Abe for the package and the goodies from Visayas and Mindanao. It gave me a feeling (and taste) of stuff I used to eat at home. And for some reason, it seemed to satisfy momentarily, the feeling of longing for CDO. Of course, that feeling of being with your family is different. But yeah, for some brief moment, these goodies made me feel like I was at home. Even for just a very brief moment.

Leave a Reply

